Meet the Board

The school board meets on the second Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the board room located in the Williams Administrative Building, 1230 Douglas Street, Sturgis. On occasion, the August meeting is moved from the second Monday to accommodate the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.


All board meetings are open to the public and all actions authorized or required by law are taken at those meetings. The school board welcomes attendance at meetings by employees, students, parents, and members of the community. To view an informational brochure about the school board meetings, click here 


Patrons who wish to discuss a matter with the board or who want items placed on the agenda are asked to contact the superintendent 10 days prior to the meeting by calling 347-2523.


Meade School Board members for the 2021-22 school year include, Joseph Urbaniak (Board President), Lee Spring (Board Vice President), Holly Good, Terry Koontz, John Nachtigall, Aaron Odegaard, Darrell Vig, JT Vig, and Charlie Wheeler. 


Board Committee Assignments










Joseph Urbaniak (President)

18824 Fairpoint Road

Union Center, SD 57787

(605) 985-5368 (H)

(605) 490-3059 (C)

Term expires 2023










Lee Spring (Vice President)

16618 Chalk Butte Road

Union Center, SD 57787


Term expires 2022










Holly Good

4415 Peaceful Pines 

Rapid City, SD 57702

(605) 381-6156

Term expires 2023

2021 22_ T Koontz .jpg


Terry Koontz

1609 Junction

Sturgis, SD 57785


Term expires 2024










John Nachtigall

22178 Little Alkali Road

Owanka, SD 57767

(605)685-8629 (C)

(605)798-2313 (H)

Term expires 2022

2021 22_A Odegaard .jpg


Aaron Odegaard

9204 S. High Meadows Drive
Black Hawk, SD 57718

(605) 381-9773
Term expires 2024











Darrell Vig

17538 Vig Place

Mud Butte, SD 57758

(605) 748-2016 (H)

(605) 515-2007 (C)

Term expires 2023












JT Vig

17747 Opal Road

Opal, SD 57758

(605)748-2400 (H)

(605)515-0101 (C)

Term expires 2022

2021 22 C Wheeler.jpg



Charlie Wheeler

121 Malibu Loop

Sturgis SD 57785


Term expires 2024